Site icon

India’s Dominant Victory: Clinching the Asia Cup 2023 Title with a Crushing 10-Wicket Win Over Sri Lanka in the Final

asia cup

asia cup

The long-awaited culmination of the Asia Cup 2023 has finally arrived, and what an exciting journey it has been! Over the course of 19 thrilling days, cricket enthusiasts were treated to a total of 13 captivating matches.

Sri Lanka’s captain, Dasun Shanaka, won the toss and decided to take the first step onto the batting crease. However, the Indian bowlers displayed their prowess right from the beginning, putting immense pressure on the Sri Lankan batting lineup.

India quickly and effectively accomplished their goal in just 6.1 overs, winning the match with all ten of their wickets still in tact. Indian supporters will surely treasure this triumph for a very long time because of the team’s genuinely outstanding performance. With its exhilarating moments and remarkable displays of cricket prowess, the Asia Cup 2023 has unquestionably been a competition to remember. I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulations the Indian team on their well-deserved victory in this historic final!

India Clinches Asia Cup 2023: A Thrilling Victory Over Sri Lanka


India defeated Sri Lanka with a convincing 10-wicket victory in the Asia Cup 2023 championship match, and cricket fans throughout the world rejoiced. With their seventh victory in the Asia Cup, India has cemented their title as champions. We’ll uncover the exciting elements of this remarkable victory. Here’s a table of the Asia Cup final matches between India and Sri Lanka up to September 2021:

1986Sharjah, UAEIndiaSri Lanka
1997Colombo, SLSri LankaIndia
2004Karachi, PakistanSri LankaIndia
2008Karachi, PakistanIndiaSri Lanka
2010Dambulla, SLIndiaSri Lanka
2018Dubai, UAEIndiaBangladesh (Sri Lanka did not reach the final)
Table: Asia cup Histroy till 2021

A Record of Excellence:

India has previously won the Asia Cup in 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016, and 2018 before the competition in 2023.India has now won this renowned competition eight times thanks to its outstanding victory.India has a successful history in the Asia Cup, having won it seven times in One Day International (ODI) play and once in Twenty20 play.But in all, Sri Lanka has won the title six times, five times in ODIs and once in T20 cricket.Pakistani teams have won the Asia Cup two times in the tournament’s history.

The Decisive Match:

The R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka, served as the site of the championship match. After winning the toss, Sri Lanka decided to bat first, but the Indian bowlers put up a strong fight against them. With their outstanding bowling effort, Mohammad Siraj, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah held Sri Lanka to only 50 runs in 15.2 overs. Siraj collected six wickets, followed by Hardik with three and Bumrah with one. India’s reaction helped them quickly accomplish their goal in just 37 deliveries, securing the game with all 10 of their wickets still in tact.

A Triumph to Remember:

With this victory, India ended a five-year drought in international events, having last won the Asia Cup in 2018 under Rohit Sharma’s leadership. Surprisingly, Rohit Sharma was named captain again when India recovered the title in 2023. Following their 2018 triumph, India faced significant obstacles, reaching the semi-finals of the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup and the 2022 ICC T20 World Cup. They also advanced to the finals of the 2021 and 2023 ICC World Test Championships, when they were barely defeated by New Zealand and Australia, respectively. Last year’s Asia Cup in T20 format did not go as expected for India, as Sri Lanka won.

Exit mobile version